What countries border Guatemala? Guatemala is bordered by Mexico on the north and west, the Pacific Ocean on the south-west, Belize on the north-east, the Caribbean on the east, and Honduras and El Salvador on the south-east. What are the ethnic groups in Guatemala? Almost fifty-nine percent of the population of Guatemala is constituted by a group called Ladino, also known as Mestizo and European. The Ladinos are mixed Amerindian and Spanish. There are a very whites that include people of Spanish, Italian, German, British and Scandinavian descent. Also there are indigenous peoples like the Garifuna, descendants of the Black Africans. Asians, mostly of Chinese, Lebanese and Syrian descent are also found in the country. What are the administrative divisions of Guatemala? Guatemala is characterized by a centralized system of governance. The country is divided into twenty-two departments and sub-divided into 332 municipalities. Who are the political leaders of Guatemala? The government of Guatemala is a unitary presidential constitutional republic. President - Alvaro Colom President-elect - Otto Perez Molina What currency is used in Guatemala? The quetzal denoted by the ISO 4217 code GTQ is the national currency of Guatemala. The currency was named after the national bird of Guatemala, the Resplendent Quetzal. It is divided into 100 cents, called centavos. What is the official language of Guatemala? Spanish is the official language of Guatemala, spoken by ninety-three percent of the population. It is used as both first and second language in the country. There are also a number of indigenous languages spoken in the country that include twenty-one Mayan languages. What is the religion of Guatemala? Christianity is the pre-dominant religion in Guatemala. The largest denominations include Roman Catholicism, Protestantism, and Eastern Orthodoxy. There are also a number of Jews, Buddhists, and Muslims in the country. What is the economy of Guatemala like? In 2010 the GDP (PPP) of Guatemala was estimated at $70.150 billion. The GDP per capita was $4,884. The economy of the country is heavily dependent on the service sector; services constitute over fifty-eight percent of the GDP, followed by agriculture and the industrial sector. Mining is a significant part of the economy; the major mined minerals include gold, silver, zinc, cobalt and nickel. Agriculture accounts for about one-fourth of GDP; organic coffee, sugar, fresh vegetables, and bananas are major agricultural products. Foreign trade is important; the major imports include fuels, machinery and transport equipment, grain, fertilizers, and electricity. When is the national day of Guatemala celebrated? The national day of the Republic of Guatemala is celebrated on September 15. The day is celebrated to commemorate the country's independence from the Spanish rule in 1821.

For more info please contact us at

(646) 898-6199